Fresenius Medical Care

Fresenius Medical Care is committed to promoting environmental awareness and protecting the environment through a wide range of initiatives and projects. We are continuously improving our operational efficiency, for instance through saving energy or by conserving resources. We also examine whether environment-friendly products and services can create added value for customers.

Our environmental management in the regions Europe, Middle East and Africa is an integral part of the quality management system and is TÜV-certified. It encompasses eco-controlling at production sites and dialysis clinics and gathers environmental data like emissions, water, and electricity consumption. Our activities include:

  • formulating environmental goals and strategies
  • coordinating internal and external environmental audits
  • providing training and further education to environmental managers within the company
  • raising employees’ awareness of environmental issues, and expand our environmental management efforts

We finalized our first environmental program for the years 2007 to 2010: In numerous cross-functional projects our environmental managers worked together with colleagues from different divisions to develop environmental friendly products, packaging or even product technologies, and to conserve resources. We are currently developing new targets which we want to achieve by the end of 2013. Again, we will actively integrate divisions like logistics, distribution, and sales. Another focus is occupational safety for our employees, with appropriate criteria being incorporated into the environmental management system.

Fresenius Medical Care launched in 2010 the “Go Green” initiative together with the European Dialysis and Transplant Nurses Association (EDTNA) and the European Renal Care Association (ERCA). Its aim is to sensitize dialysis specialists in Europe on environmental issues and support them in making the processes at their workplaces more environmentally friendly, for instance through more efficient water, electricity, and dialysate consumption and by improving waste management.

In the United States, for instance, we use a returnable container system for collecting medical waste. At our production site in Odgen, the largest plant of Fresenius Medical Care in the United States, we recycle a large variety of materials from different divisions, for instance plastics or cardboard. We are currently also looking to certify clinics and production sites in the United States to the environmental standards of ISO 14001. A certified program has already been established for monitoring environmental and occupational safety standards at all production plants, distribution centers, and laboratories each year. Audits are conducted to verify compliance not only with federal and local laws but also with the guidelines of the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, the U.S. Department of Transportation, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

In Latin America, we started to implement an environmental management in Columbia according to the ISO standard 14001. It encompasses the overall regional organization. In Venezuela, we are conducting a campaign to instruct employees on waste management and energy and water consumption issues. We continuously monitor the water and energy consumption in Argentina as well as the recycling of medical waste in all dialysis clinics. The primary aim of these measures is to conserve resources and to prevent emissions and waste.

We have developed an environmental guideline specifically for the Asia-Pacific region. This contains procedures for managing waste, conserving resources, and preventing pollution. Our plants monitor the consumption of resources such as electricity, gas, and water, and determine potential for improvements.

Continue reading:
Fresenius Kabi

QUICKFINDER

History

Internal related Links

Tools

Fresenius Medical Care

Fresenius Medical Care engagiert sich mit vielfältigen Initiativen und Projekten für mehr Umweltbewusstsein und Umweltschutz. So verbessern wir kontinuierlich unsere Betriebseffizienz, etwa durch Energiesparmaßnahmen oder indem wir den Einsatz von Rohstoffen reduzieren, die wir in der Produktion benötigen. Darüber hinaus prüfen wir, ob umweltfreundliche Produkte und Dienstleistungen Mehrwert für Kunden schaffen.

Unser Umweltmanagement in den Regionen Europa, Mittlerer Osten und Afrika ist als integraler Bestandteil des Qualitätsmanagementsystems TÜV-zertifiziert. Es beinhaltet u. a. das Ökocontrolling an Produktionsstandorten und in Dialysekliniken. Darüber hinaus erfasst es umweltbezogene Daten, z. B. Emissionen, Wasser- und Stromverbrauch. Weitere Aufgabengebiete sind:

  • Umweltziele und -strategien zu formulieren,
  • die Koordination interner und externer Umwelt-Audits,
  • die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Umweltverantwortlichen im Unternehmen und
  • das Umweltbewusstsein der Mitarbeiter zu sensibilisieren sowie das Umweltmanagement weiter auszubauen.

Wir haben unser erstes Umweltprogramm in den Jahren 2007 bis 2010 umgesetzt: In zahlreichen Projekten arbeiteten Umweltmanager bereichsübergreifend mit Kollegen zusammen, um u. a. umweltfreundliche Produkte, aber auch Verpackungsmaterialien oder Produktionstechnologien zu entwickeln sowie Ressourcen einzusparen. Wir definieren derzeit neue Ziele, die bis Ende des Jahres 2013 umgesetzt werden sollen. Erneut binden wir Bereiche wie Logistik, Distribution und Vertrieb aktiv ein. Weiterhin soll auch der Arbeitssicherheit unserer Mitarbeiter Rechnung getragen und entsprechende Kriterien in das Umweltmanagementsystem integriert werden.

Fresenius Medical Care hat im Jahr 2010 die Initiative „Go Green“ gestartet, gemeinsam mit dem europäischen Verband für Pflegefachkräfte in der Nierenheilkunde (EDTNA/ERCA − European Dialysis and Transplant Nurses Association/European Renal Care Association). Sie soll Dialysefachkräfte in Europa stärker für das Thema Umweltschutz sensibilisieren und sie dabei unterstützen, die Abläufe an ihrem Arbeitsplatz umweltfreundlicher zu gestalten – etwa durch einen effizienteren Wasser-, Strom- und Dialysekonzentratverbrauch sowie durch ein verbessertes Abfallmanagement.

In den USA nutzen wir z. B. ein Mehrwegsystem von Sammelbehältern für medizinische Abfälle. Am Standort Ogden, dem größten Produktionswerk von Fresenius Medical Care in den USA, führen wir Stoffe aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Wiederverwertung zu, z. B. Kunststoffe und Pappe. In den USA prüfen wir derzeit auch eine Zertifizierung von Kliniken und Produktionsstandorten nach der Umweltnorm ISO 14001. Bereits heute durchlaufen alle Produktionswerke, Distributionszentren und Labore jährlich ein zertifiziertes Programm zur Überwachung der Umwelt- und Arbeitssicherheitsstandards. In Audits wird neben der Einhaltung der staatlichen und lokalen Gesetze überprüft, inwieweit wir die Richtlinien der US-amerikanischen Arbeitsschutzbehörde (Occupational Safety and Health Administration), des Verkehrsministeriums (Department of Transportation) sowie der US-Umweltschutzbehörde (Environmental Protection Agency) beachten.

In Lateinamerika bauen wir in Kolumbien seit dem Jahr 2010 für die gesamte Länderorganisation ein Umweltmanagementsystem gemäß der ISO-Norm 14001 auf. Unsere Mitarbeiter in Venezuela schulen wir im Rahmen einer Kampagne zu den Themen Abfallentsorgung, Energie- und Wasserverbrauch. In Argentinien erfassen wir kontinuierlich den Wasser- und Energieverbrauch sowie die Entsorgung des medizinischen Abfalls in allen Dialysekliniken. Übergeordnetes Ziel für diese Maßnahmen ist es, Ressourcen einzusparen sowie Emissionen und das Abfallaufkommen zu vermindern.

Eine eigene Umweltrichtlinie haben wir in der Region Asien-Pazifik entwickelt. Diese beinhaltet das Abfallmanagement sowie Richtlinien, um Ressourcen zu schonen und Umweltverschmutzung zu vermeiden. In unseren Werken erfassen wir den Ressourcenverbrauch, z. B. Strom, Gas, Wasser, und ermitteln Verbesserungspotenziale.

Lesen Sie weiter:
Fresenius Kabi

QUICKFINDER

Verlauf

Interne weiterführende Links

Tools